EU INSTITUTIONSUnitsUnit 3. European ParliamentStep 3. Political groups in the European Parliament

Step 3. Political groups in the European Parliament

The Members of the European Parliament sit in political groups – they are not organised by nationality, but by political affiliation. As of 2019 there are 7 political groups in the European Parliament (Group of European People’s Party, Group of the Progressive Alliances of Socialists and Democrats, Renew Europe Group, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, Identity and Democracy Group, European Conservatives and Reformists, Confederal Group of the European United Left-Nordic Green Left). 25 Members are needed to form a political group, and at least one-quarter of the Member States must be represented within the group. Members may not belong to more than one political group. Some Members do not belong to any political group and are known as non-attached Members. Political groups play a central role in the Parliament as they control appointments to positions. Please note that political groups in the EP are not the same as European political parties.

(Source: )

(For more information please see:

Now watch this video explaining  the functioning of Political Groups in the European Parliament.